Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Bank

Akroid Sprite Project

I noticed Shadow Dweller's post about his "entity", and thought I'd show one of my original creature ideas.

As some of you would be surprised to know, I'm a pixel artist on my spare time. At the moment, I'm working on a computerization of one of my favourite ideas.

A few years ago, I heard the name "Aykroyd" and thought to myself, "doesnt that sound like a skin disease you get on your neck?". Well, through hell and high water, the idea for "Akroids" was born. Akroids are frog-like creatures born with no arms, that use robotic arms and special armour to move around. I designed them early on to be ugly, outrageously ugly, with a cartoonish/impossible anatomy. As the idea progressed, more additions came to the Akroid race. Eventually, I forgot about the Akroids, going on to bigger and better things (Hitler Shark), but here I am, recalling my favourite times.

I decided that I'd make an Akroid sprite, with complete animations. I am currently done with the master frame, of which all other frames will be based. Here for your enjoyment.

An average Akroid. Notice the blaster-arm. (White background because transparencies make it too hard to see on a blue background.)

Process of making said Akroid.

Alternate Colouring.

In the words of Dr. Evil, this really is the kind of general malaise that only the ******* possess and the insane lament.

Actually, once I finish the sprite sheet, I was considering what I might stick him in. It currently looks like he would fit a fighting game or a side scrolling shooter, but I cant really be sure, as my coding prowess is non-existant, and I would have to rely on a premade engine (such as MUGEN).

Although a cartoon would be a nice thought (I worked as a cartoonist for a while)