Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
hobblinharry

[How do I use a nodebuilder/command line?]

How do I get the random maps generated with slump to work? In the readme it says to use doombsp but I can't find anything on how to use doombsp. I only just recently found out about open source doom projects, so I am basically a noob to all of this.

If you play a ZDoom-based port (ZDoom/GZDoom/SkullTag/ZDoomGL) it will automatically build the nodes for you if they are missing, so that's probably the easiest option.

For other ports you need a nodebuilder (scroll down). BSP 5.0 is a good choice (I think).

Sorry, I should have been more specific. I already got as far as a node builder. I actually already have BSP 5.1.

My problem was, though, that the documentation on how to use it is not noob friendly at all. I'm not new to messing around with command lines, so I know how in theory this should work, but I can't figure out. So basically, I'm hoping that someone here has experience with Doom BSP and can tell me exactly what I need to do to get this SLUMP.OUT file to turn into a WAD file.

From Readme.txt:

Here is an example of using Slump to generate levels:

./slump -seed 1
bsp SLUMP.OUT game.wad
prboom -file game.wad

I guess I need to be even more specific.

I have tried everything that is in the documents and web pages for both the Slump program and the Doom BSP. None of their resources have helped me. I need a person with first hand experience to *tell* me what to do, because I cannot figure it out on my own from the directions.

edit: Since you did happen to quote that specific piece of the readme me, I guess I should go ahead and mention what is stopping me.

./slump -seed 1
bsp SLUMP.OUT game.wad
prboom -file game.wad

I understand the slump -seed 1 part.
I understand the prboom -file game.wad part.