Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Quasar

Solution to wobbly line problem that *doesn't* involve Build code?

I'm curious if anyone has developed a mathematically rigorous system for projection of segs in DOOM that doesn't resort to using code that was taken from the Build engine. DOOM's normal system of sloppily clipping angles to the vertices into range results in severe numeric instability when one vertex is behind the player, causing stuff that looks like this to happen:

http://doomworld.com/eternity/engine/screenshots/spazzed_midtex.png

The problem seems to be amplified by higher screen resolutions and so it's starting to go beyond my tolerance level (fixes to this have also been requested by Mordeth and the Millennium team).

Unfortunately I'm not very good with trig, especially not when it comes to 3D projections, so I am hoping somebody has some pointers to give.

Is the aversion to using Build code just because of the license? The Duke3D code is GPL, if that's case.

Yes, I was apparently wrong. Only the Duke specific stuff is GPL, not the base engine. I don't understand Ken Silverman's insistence on using his own wonky license.

The first thing you should try is to use higher precision math functions, e.g. replace M_Cos and M_Tan with versions that use cos() and tan() instead of the lookup tables. Do it temporarily (not worrying about performance yet) and see if the problem goes away.

For other ways of rendering, you could try "DUMB", a doom engine written from scratch. It is under the GPL. The rendering is not based on angles (more conventional in a sense).