Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
plasticmanc

The Darkest Hour in zdoom gives numlumps error

Hi there,

Hate to be whinging about a problem with my first post, but the recommendation was on this site for The Darkest Hour as a good Star Wars conversion:
http://www.doomworld.com/10years/bestwads/2001.php

Having downloaded and run zdoom as it specified in the readme, zdoom works fine with my normal wads (in XP), but the DarkHour.wad flashes the hourglass and comes up with:
W_MapLumpNum: 4294967295 >= NumLumps

So can anyone help with this?

Grateful for any assistance you can offer,

Tim

According to the ini - ZDOOM 2.1.7 (r366), the latest off the zdoom.org downloads page.

I just tried the older one (1.22) and it gives me a GetNumForName error instead.

Would it make any difference that it's XP Pro?

It's annoying when stuff just doesn't work. Although I am fairly new to this so I might be making a stupid mistake.

Tim

Actually, skip the XP Pro comment.

I tried it on a XP "Media Center" PC as well - similar error (although the number may be different).

Version 1.22 is VERY VERY old, and Zdoom's backwards compatibility has gone down the crapper in recent times. The best thing to do is find out when Darkest Hour was made (from the text file) and then look in the archive of previous ZDoom versions (i think there's one on the site) and find the one that was the latest version when the wad was released. THEN it should work

deathbringer said:
Version 1.22 is VERY VERY old,

Not to mention that the WAD in question was made for later versions and 1.22 doesn't have all the features.

and Zdoom's backwards compatibility has gone down the crapper in recent times.

That's utter bullshit.