Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Oridez

[Newbie Project] The Intelligent Arena series

Okay. Here we go.

Some people may know me already. Those who have been helping me during my idiocy in the Doom Builder forum section. For those who don't, I'm fairly new to the Doom Building and making Wads and all the technical stuff, but I'm trying to create a series of levels and/or games based around various arenas and survival levels. The first of which can be seen in its infant stage by downloading the demo from the link a couple paragraphs from here.

I've got a couple ideas planned out. This one's still gotta' be scripted and such, probably going to be the F.U.N. map.

I'm still getting used to DooM editing utilities, and it'd be a great help if someone could tell me all the basics that I should have. ^_^ Thanks.

--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--=--

--==Various links==--
This is the PWAD. Patch it in then type in "+map EXP01" in ZDL as a command line parameter or while in ZDoom type in "map EXP01" in the console to access the level. Keep in mind that this is still in its infant stages, and might not even be the first level, or used at all, but it will give a taste of what's to come.
http://www.mediafire.com/?w1q4ozvjxyy - holydoom.wad

This is the demo. While in ZDL put in -playdemo "FistsofFloors" before launching the game, or while in ZDoom type "playdemo FistsofFloors" into the console.
http://www.mediafire.com/?djymgn2xfjg - FistsofFloors.lmp

--==LEVEL CONCEPTS==--
Some possible level types include levels where the floor is constantly shifting, impeding or aiding the player in some way. A few ideas are:

[Tidal Floors], causing the floors to shift in rippling motions, disorienting players and enemies alike]

[The Weakest Floor], including some fancy work that will cause 'wrong' floors to shift and trap a player, either making them have to fight enemies or solve something]