Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
TimeOfDeath

zdoom editing questions

In ZDoom, is this possible in a script:

- pick up more than one of the same key while telling ZDoom how many of those keys you have picked up after each key has been picked up
- one key gets taken from your inventory after you use it

So it'd be like: you pick up two red keycards, open a red door, now you have one red keycard left, open another red door, now you have no red keycards left.

If not with keys, then with a different item?

Try with puzzle items, like Hexen does (like that flame mask). They're essentially keys that are lost after use.

Thanks, that sounds perfect. I haven't done this sorta stuff before, so I'm a newbie. Can you carry more than one of the same puzzle item? There will be 4 different colors of keys and sometimes you'll have to carry more than one of the same color. Does this involve DECORATE?

Yes, you can carry several. (In Hexen, up to 25; but ZDoom allows you to select your own maximum value if so you want.) And yes, you'll have to make new DECORATE actors, but that won't be very complicated; a puzzle item definition is very simple.

Look at the ZDoom wiki, it should explain all you need to know:
http://zdoom.org/wiki/Classes:PuzzleItem

Creaphis said:

Ah, Zelda logic.

If you leave the key where it was used, (Korax skull for example) then it's logic that you no longer carry it with you.

Ok, it took my brain a while, but the decorate seems to be working. But, now I ran into a problem with this script:

#include "zcommon.acs"

script 1 (void)
{
	if (GetSectorFloorZ (1,0,0) > 1.0)
		UsePuzzleItem (19,2);
	else
		Print (s:"You need a green key!");
}