Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Spleen

Unconnected Lines (new mapper here)

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to making wads (haven't completed or released any decent map yet), and I have some issues with unconnected linedefs. In Doom Builder, the linedefs look connected (if you drag them around they move together), but when you load up the map it says they are unconnected. Also, if you look carefully at them when you play the map, there will be a vertical line of HOM in the vertex that 2 lines meet. The specific linedefs that I'm having trouble with are between the 4th and 5th, 8th and 9th, 12th and 13th etc rooms with sergeants (counting from the left) in the very north of the map.

Here is the WAD in question:
http://www.zshare.net/download/1753460217b6db7c/
(please load it up in Skulltag in Hexen format, as that is what I saved it as)

I am not finished with the map, but either way, any other criticisms are appreciated as well. Thank you for your time.

When drawing a line that's just one map unit away from another parallel line, Doom Builder will frequently (usually? always?) put the new sidedefs on the wrong sides of the new line. This is a Doom Builder error that you couldn't have been expected to know about, so relax - it's not your fault. To fix this, you could either tediously move sidedefs to their correct locations and change their sector references, or you could just delete all those sectors and draw them again. I would just draw the new sectors further apart from each other, but if you want those lines to only have 1-unit gaps in between them, then I would recommend that you draw the lines further apart and then move them close together. This seems to work.

Edit: There's also unclosed sectors in a staircase that you need to fix. Use Tools -> find map errors to spot them all.

-Good POints

This could be a great concept if you had some interested buildings in the mix. I like the shutters idea.