Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Koko Ricky

Predictions for increasing realism in CG gore

The following are predictions and ideas on how programmers and artists will increase the realism of computer generated blood and gore, preferably in real-time video and computer games. I would assume that these advanced would be possible within 10 to 15 years. I am not a CG expert.

==Fully modeled blood.==
Blood, in games, is generally a texture, sometimes an animated one, that splats on walls and ground. When video cards are able to render many billions of polygons per second, it will become feasible to have actual modeled blood. In order for it to be realistic, algorithms will have to be developed for simulating fluid. The character model will have to be treated like a barrel that can leak when holes are punched through it. This would allow for dynamic puncture wounds. The artists would likely have to study fluid, as well as projectile wounds, in order to appear believable.

==Fully dynamic skeletal, muscular and epidermal meshes.==
The possibilities of Endorphin (a powerful apparatus for simulating reaction to gravity and physics), combined with realistic simulation of injury and elasticity of the skin, will allow for total destruction of the human body. Broken bones, peeled skin, dismemberment, mutilation, disembowelment, decapitation, and other forms of injury, would be possible, or at least more detailed.

==Fully modeled organs.==
The intestines, liver, pancreas, brain, heart, lungs, gallbladder, spleen, kidney, bladder, etc., would all be modeled in detail, so that depending on the injury caused, one or more organs may be affected or exposed. Each organ would be segmented so that they can be completely obliterated.

==Emulation of velocity and destructive power in reference to weapons==