Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Quasar

Strife versions?

What version of Strife do you have?  

12 members have voted

  1. 1. What version of Strife do you have?

    • v1.0
      2
    • v1.1
      0
    • v1.2
      6
    • v1.3
      1
    • v1.31
      3


Recommended Posts

According to my research there are 5 commercial versions of Strife.

Somewhat to my dismay I found I have been working on v1.2, or at least what the text files with it claim is v1.2 - the executable itself still calls itself "101" and the demos in the IWAD match this as well, as if to suggest the only change(s) in 1.2 were to the IWAD or other data files.

The poll is for what version of the game you have. Please mark it and we'll see what the most common version is (I suspect that it is v1.2). Please don't answer the poll if you're not sure (for example, your game doesn't have the documentation with it).

But also please discuss here any known differences between the various versions! I cannot find any information about them online, nor even any working links to the patches (which require the original game CD to boot).

EDIT: If you have the information available please post about the following for strife1.exe and strife1.wad:
* File sizes
* Modification dates
* CRC, MD5, SHA1, etc. hashes

So far I've seen the following:

strife1.wad 28372168 bytes 4/18/96 CRC32=B7581ABD (claimed version unknown)

strife1.wad 28377364 bytes 5/23/96 5:03pm CRC32=4234ACE5 (docs say this is v1.2)
strife1.exe 752691 bytes 5/01/96 12:20am CRC32=A4498079

Share this post


Link to post

strife-registered-1.0/strife1.wad,28372168,"8f2d3a6a289f5d2f2f9c1eec02b47299","b7581abd"
strife-shareware-1.1/strife0.wad,9934413,"bb545b9c4eca0ff92c14d466b3294023","93c144dd"
strife-registered-1.2/strife1.wad,28377364,"2fed2031a5b03892106e0f117f17901f","4234ace5"
strife-registered-1.3/strife1.wad,28377364,"2fed2031a5b03892106e0f117f17901f","4234ace5"
strife-registered-1.31/strife1.wad,28377364,"2fed2031a5b03892106e0f117f17901f","4234ace5"

strife-registered-1.0/strife1.exe,753291,"78b1de36f012ff80fabd99cc293312b6","f881033d"
strife-shareware-1.1/strife.exe,715559,"2ffc1638e30ad5ca69a8208e62707cea","c40ddd7a"
strife-registered-1.2/strife1.exe,752691,"f32f0eeb8ec3ed8e3adb21f5d85d290f","a4498079"
strife-registered-1.3/strife1.exe,753215,"85f99bc982fbf261f576d447a77dba11","f0addd43"
strife-registered-1.31/strife1.exe,753215,"5b107e059e128cad6a6f4d7a3cb5e669","abff76ea"

Share this post


Link to post

When you ask "which version do you have", what do you mean? I mean, do you mean which version is the version that you own a copy of (assuming that some people actually have a bought copy) or do you mean which version have you patched it to?

My CD is version 1.1 but I have patched it to 1.31. The big advantage of the later patches is that they did away with that silly 1 save slot per game system - fatal in a game where it is possible to make a bad decision that makes the game uncompletable.

Why would people not be patching to the latest version? Do the downloaded versions not patch or something?

Share this post


Link to post

I guess most people will have the version that's at HotU... Reasons for not patching include mainly not knowing there are patches available. ;)

Share this post


Link to post

I suppose so. I guess I assume that most people do what I do and check to see if there are any updates for any game that I own, usually as soon as I get the game. I mean. surely most people know that there are Doom patches and the Strife ones come from the same servers? Or maybe people don't know that seeing as how anyone buying Doom recently would get 1.9 already?

Share this post


Link to post

Well now I know what the roguestuff directory is for. My CD came with version 1.2, but I guess it doesn't make too much difference -- I've been using svstrife to play it...

Share this post


Link to post

I purchased my copy of strife online, the same way I got Final Doom and Heretic, so I don't have any disks or a CD for them. I don't even have the executable anymore (as I could never get it to run properly), but I still have the wad file. I did a md5 checksum on it and it's version 1.2, 1.3, or 1.31 according to fraggle's post. I never patched it.

Share this post


Link to post

Inconveniently many versions for a game like Strife. Not like Hexen, which easily is v1.0 or v1.1.

Share this post


Link to post

Was 1.0 even released officially? If you take that out, what's left are 2 shareware versions (no idea about version numbers but ZDoom supports 2 different ones) and the 1.2-1.31 IWAD which seems to be the only common version around. And since the only changes in these versions were to the EXE (mostly improvements to the savegame system) why is it inconvenient?

Share this post


Link to post
Graf Zahl said:

Was 1.0 even released officially? If you take that out, what's left are 2 shareware versions (no idea about version numbers but ZDoom supports 2 different ones) and the 1.2-1.31 IWAD which seems to be the only common version around. And since the only changes in these versions were to the EXE (mostly improvements to the savegame system) why is it inconvenient?

I'd have to check to be sure, but I have a CD copy and I think that's version 1.0.

Are there really two shareware versions? I've only seen one.

EDIT:Apparently, there's a Strife registered 1.1, so there's definitely a version missing from my list.

Share this post


Link to post
Graf Zahl said:

Was 1.0 even released officially? If you take that out, what's left are 2 shareware versions (no idea about version numbers but ZDoom supports 2 different ones) and the 1.2-1.31 IWAD which seems to be the only common version around. And since the only changes in these versions were to the EXE (mostly improvements to the savegame system) why is it inconvenient?

Because I have to find out the version and realize it's not the final, and to see whether a downloaded patch works.

Share this post


Link to post

From my CD copy, the text files say Version 1.2.

Strife1.wad 28,377,364 24/May/96 5:03AM CRC=4234ACE5 MD5=2FED2031A5B03892106E0F117F17901F
Strife1.exe 752,691 1/May/96 12:20PM CRC=A4498079 MD5=F32F0EEB8EC3ED8E3ADB21F5D85D290F

Share this post


Link to post

Interesting, version.txt on my Strife CD says:

STRIFE(TM) VERSION 1.0

However, when I start the exe, just before the load progress screen appears, this gets printed to the screen:

STRIFE: Quest for the Sigil v1.1


Strife1.exe
78b1de36f012ff80fabd99cc293312b6


Strife1.wad
8f2d3a6a289f5d2f2f9c1eec02b47299

That looks the same md5 as Fraggle identified as 1.0.

So, even using merely the files on my CD there is confusion over the version number.



Patched to 1.31

Strife1.exe
5b107e059e128cad6a6f4d7a3cb5e669

Strife1.wad
2fed2031a5b03892106e0f117f17901f

Share this post


Link to post
Blzut3 said:

My brother dug up the wad for the old shareware version a while ago. We have no clue where the rest of it can be found.

http://maniacsvault.net/dumpster/resources/STRIFEOLD.ZIP

MD5 of strife0.wad is: de2c8dcad7cca206292294bdab524292


Thanks!

Enjay said:

Interesting, version.txt on my Strife CD says:

STRIFE(TM) VERSION 1.0

However, when I start the exe, just before the load progress screen appears, this gets printed to the screen:

STRIFE: Quest for the Sigil v1.1


Strife1.exe
78b1de36f012ff80fabd99cc293312b6


Strife1.wad
8f2d3a6a289f5d2f2f9c1eec02b47299

That looks the same md5 as Fraggle identified as 1.0.

So, even using merely the files on my CD there is confusion over the version number.



Patched to 1.31

Strife1.exe
5b107e059e128cad6a6f4d7a3cb5e669

Strife1.wad
2fed2031a5b03892106e0f117f17901f

I think we have the same CD. I just checked and it has the version.txt file you describe, which says "1.0". However, I don't know how to get the version message on startup. I get the graphical startup with the running man, so it isn't displayed. How did you do that?

I think our CDs actually have Strife 1.1, but the version.txt is mislabeled as 1.0. Aside from the startup message, I tried running the 1.1->1.2 upgrade patch on the CD version, and it applies cleanly.

In conclusion, it seems that for shareware, 1.0 and 1.1 exist, while for registered, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 and 1.31 exist.

Share this post


Link to post
fraggle said:

In conclusion, it seems that for shareware, 1.0 and 1.1 exist, while for registered, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 and 1.31 exist.

So the 1.0->1.3 patch works with the 1.1 CD? Then that seems to be correct.

kimo_xvirus said:

You can get Strife demo 1.0 from http://gokuma.site.voila.fr/download.html
It includes STRIFE0.wad, STRIFE.EXE, SETUP.EXE & README

Nice. I've uploaded a copy to my web server.

Share this post


Link to post
fraggle said:

However, I don't know how to get the version message on startup. I get the graphical startup with the running man, so it isn't displayed. How did you do that?


Heh, well, I'm sure that there is a better way but I just ran Strife in a Window using DOSBox and hit PrintScreen immediately after typing "strife1 [enter]" then pasted the resulting screen grab into a paint program. ;)

[edit] Heh, yes, there is a better way. Using the -devparm parameter stops the graphical running man display and you get a progress report like the one with doom.exe. It still nips past pretty quickly though and the -file parameter doesn't seem to halt the loading as it does with Doom. (Only tested on 1.31) [/edit]

Share this post


Link to post

Note that behavior seems to depend on the version you're running. According to what I've disassembled in Strife 1.2, there won't be any text before the graphical startup sequence at all unless the game is in one of a number of developer or debug modes. When those modes are used, it then starts up like DOOM usually did. I believe the change was mainly to accommodate the startup movie that played before the game. Going from video to the startup sequence would be more logical than showing a blip of text between them.

Share this post


Link to post

I dunno. I have the one I got on my disc. ANd then I got another version that were sent to me by a friend so we could play Strife DM. But I have no idea what version that may be. I could check out the one I have on Disc though.

Share this post


Link to post

got a strife registered version and where can you get it. I mean download a strife registered version off the internet or a free patch for the demo?

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×