Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
alamainaloha

Re-uploading

Recommended Posts

Let's say, after uploading your thoroughly tested and finally finished wad, you discover, after the fact, a flaw that impacts gameplay.

After fixing that flaw, what are the guidelines regarding re-uploading?

Is it...

a: Don't bother. What you first uploaded is cast in stone and cannot be changed.

b: Fix the flaw and re-upload using the same wad name.

c: Fix the flaw and re-upload using a different wad name.



Thanks,

A

Share this post


Link to post

Updating files is fine. The name can be the same, or it can be different, as you prefer. There's a line at the top of the text file template which allows you to tell the archive's admin what file to replace with the new version.

Personally, I suggest using a different, if similar, name for the new version, at least for the ZIP. That will create a new page on Doomworld's database for your WAD. If not, the same page is used, and the data on it is not updated except for the links. Comments that refer to the old version, which may refer to bugs that might have been removed, will thus not cause confusion.

Share this post


Link to post

B.

But what you also do is edit the textfile to let the maintainer to replace the old file.

Share this post


Link to post

No, as myk suggested, unless the database is tweaked to recognize changed contents, I'd prefer C. Besides, there are many wads out there with version number in their filename.

Share this post


Link to post

Option B when the original version is seriously broken.
Option C when it's just an improved version. In such cases the old version should be preserved. Far too many WADs have already been lost because they were replaced by updates that changed so much that the original look and feel was lost.

In all cases, fill in the 'Archive Maintainer' line in the text file so that it is clear what's supposed to be done.

Share this post


Link to post

Option B isn't possible whilst the original is still in /incoming (which I realise isn't quite what the op was asking) because the files in /incoming are write protected for most users so you can't overwrite something with the same file name.

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×