Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Iceykiller

Monster Teleporting

I know this may seem like a horribly stupid question to most mappers, but I am new to this, so bear with me please :)

I want to know how to achieve that effect when it seems like monsters are teleporting into a room out of seemingly nowhere. Like, you hit a switch, or pass a linedef, and suddenly mosnters start teleporting in.
I tried scrolling floors+locked door+teleporter behind door, but monsters aren't affected by it. And I would do the "little room stuffed with monsters that walk over a line" idea, but how would they see you to start walking? The idea is that you don't know they are there, and you have to be able to see them for them to see you, right?
Can anyone help me :(

The key is sound, not sight. Tiny shafts or two separate sectors merged into one (and not literally joined together, though), will do the trick. The downside is that you need the player to fire at least one shot before the monsters wake up.

If attempting this with scrolling floors in a boom-compatible map, make sure the linedef action type allows for monster activation (there are several teleport actions already available for this in the original Doom).

The advantage with the other method (merging two completely separate, non-adjacent sectors) is that you can put the monsters to be teleported as far away from the room as you want, which gives allows you to choose whether or not you want the player to hear the monsters in the background and also gives you much more flexibility in how you size the room with the monsters hidden in it. And you don't have to worry about having to hide the shaft either.

But the shaft idea works perfectly well in most cases, so do that if it's easier for you. :)