Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
justsomemusicguy

Using LOCKDEFS in DoomBuilder

Hey guys.

I've reached a point in the creation of my new WAD where I'm tired of those standard DOOM locks, so I've created a couple of custom locks in the LOCKDEFS lump.
Now I've never used custom keys or locks before, so I don't know how to use those locks in DoomBuilder. Can someone tell me how to?
Is there, for example, a special linedef action or something?

Thanks in advance.

I don't know if any other port has lockdefs too, but I'm going to assume you're mapping for ZDoom.

You need not to use the Doom/Heretic/Strife map format, but either UDMF or the Hexen map format, so that you can specify arguments to line specials.

Then it's just a matter of giving the proper lock number (as specified in your lockdef lump) to the line specials:

13:Door_LockedRaise (tag, speed, delay, lock, lighttag)
83:ACS_LockedExecute (script, map, s_arg1, s_arg2, lock)
85:ACS_LockedExecuteDoor (script, map, s_arg1, s_arg2, lock)

13:Door_LockedRaise (tag, speed, delay, lock, lighttag)

OK thanks guys!
There's only one problem: my WAD consists solely of zDOOM maps in DOOM format, so I can't specify any arguments to the specials.
Is it impossible to use custom locks/keys in DOOM format maps? I mean, isn't there a way to edit my DOOM map in a way that I can use a custom lock?
Otherwise I guess I'll change my map format to Hexen then...

You can't specify arguments in the Doom format, so you're limited to predefined values. On the ZDoom download page, you can get zwadconv among other utilities, it'll convert your Doom-in-Doom to Doom-in-Hexen format. (I'm not sure how good Doom Builder or whatever other editor you're using is for making the conversion. Just to be safe, name the converted file a different name until you've verified that it still work as expected.)