Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Kyka

Help with merging wads. (New question)

...specifically help with adding custom monsters to wads.

Using XWE, you open your map, then go to file, click merge, and then browse for the monster.wad that you want to add. So I did all this, and nothing seems to be adding, and I don't know what I am doing wrong.

And Slumped doesn't even seem to have a merge function, though it must have somewhere...

I am really new to doing anything like this, so any help appreciated.

You can try doing it the "hard" way and first extracting the lumps from the monster wad to your hard drive and then importing those to your map wad.

Jodwin said:

You can try doing it the "hard" way and first extracting the lumps from the monster wad to your hard drive and then importing those to your map wad.

I have no idea how to go about doing this, but I am gonna go try it anyway, coz I am sure I will learn something just by messing around with the lumps.

Kappes Buur said:

XWE seems to be buggy when merging PWADs. I usually use Deepsea for that function. It's easy to use and it gives immediate feedback if something goes wrong.
http://www3.telus.net/NeoHippo/TUTORIALS/DECORATE_Import/DECORATE01.htm

Consider this downloaded.

Thanks for the replies. :)

To "merge" wads in SLumpEd, just open the two wads in it (yay for tabs) and copy and paste the lumps between wads as needed.

DeePSea's wad merging function does have the significant advantage of being able to automatically combine multiple texture1 and pnames lumps, though. :)

Kyka said:

I have no idea how to go about doing this, but I am gonna go try it anyway, coz I am sure I will learn something just by messing around with the lumps.

Select all the lumps you want to merge with your map, Entry -> Save As. Then open your map wad, Entry -> Load, select all the lumps you previously saved.