Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Solarn

Experiment: DM levels by a dedicated SPer

So yeah. I've never played one game of deathmatch in my life and that's fine with me. I'm not good at interacting with people and I have an aversion to just playing with random guys on a server.

But lately, I've seen very high quality deathmatch megawads come out and I wanted to try my hand at making some maps myself. So here are three maps made for deathmatch by someone who's never played deathmatch before. Bear in mind that they probably suck and that's okay. They were never meant to be great, just as an experiment.

Here they are:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/2bj0gx

MAP01 is a small map meant for two players. It's got some detail, but very little. MAP02 and MAP03 are larger maps meant for 4 players and they are woefully underdetailed because I focused on finishing them quickly and besides, they aren't meant to be actually played. They're just there so people can tell me what I'm doing wrong. None of the maps have any lighting differences because I suck at lighting. Also, I love symmetry way too much (read: all of the maps are annoyingly symmetrical).

Before anyone even asks why I'm presenting them for critique if they are so bad and unfinished: it's because this is the best I can do without feedback from people who actually know what they are doing.

So fire away. Why are my layouts bad, what should I do with the detailing, how screwed up is my weapon and ammo placement, anything that's wrong with the maps, please tell me.

Newest version here: MAP01 is more compact and MAP03 is a small duel map instead of a sprawling, terrible free-for-all map.

EDIT: I have never uploaded a version of the WAD that didn't have several textures merged in. Nope, never. What are you talking about?