Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sigvatr

Introduce me to demo watching

I ate too much pizza and now I just want to lie on the couch and watch Doom demos. I've seen some videos on youtube but the quality is usually terrible and eats up too much bandwidth for me to be able to afford at the moment (I live in Australia where the internet is insanely expensive).

So, I would like to request the following:

- The best port for watching Demos in (are there any that support the original adlib style music like ZDoom?)
- Some great wads people make demos for
- And some great demos for those wads

Also, the fastest, pain-free way for me to start watching them in.

I know I am a noob to this, so I trust you not to interpret "great demos" as demos you made the other day and think you can trick me with.

Thanks.

I can give answers to at least some of your points

The best port for watching Demos

PrBoom+ is pretty much all you need. Some demos are port specific, a demo recorded under Legacy 1.42 needs Legacy 1.42 for playback; recorded under ZDoom 2.4.1 needs ZDoom 2.4.1, and so on. Still, the majority of demos were recorded in Doom2 1.9 and they all can be played back with PrBoom+, which also covers Chocolate Doom, Doom95, Boom, PrBoom and proper PrBoom+ demos. Not only this, when you acquire the taste of simple demo watching, I can show you some "advanced" features I use, such as chasecam, tracing monsters health, etc. It's a demo oriented source port, so you won't find anything better.

Some great wads people make demos for

At Doomed Speed Demos Archive you have now 16429 demos on 1426 WADs for a total running time of 1580 hours, 29 minutes and 41 seconds :) Here you'll find the most popular WADs, sorted by number of demos and demos length.

And some great demos for those wads