Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Rafeinator

Glitches in Doom Builder 2 Testing

I'm relatively new to making custom maps with editors, but I was doing pretty well up until yesterday, when I started getting these strange glitches when trying to test maps.

I'm editing with doom builder 2 and I'm using the jDoom/Doomsday engine for testing.

I've confirmed that the glitches only seem to happen in the two following scenarios:

- if I create a single sector, place a start point in it and try to test the map, it will immeadiately crash with a "segmentation violation" error. Also, in doomsday out it says "W_AddFile: ERROR: T:\Administrator\Temp\59brehhd\mshdwrxo.wad not found!".

however, if I create a map with more than one sector,it at least loads and I can play it. That being said,

- if I create a sector and then create another sector within the first that shares one or more of the first's linedefs, it makes some textures disappear. Generally it seems to be the wall and some of the floor next to where the two sectors share a linedef. You'll either just see the sky through where the wall and floor used to be or get a HOM effect. (Also, the map looks fine when viewed through doom builder's 3D editing mode.)

This has completely baffled me as everything was working fine for about a week. I would be extremely grateful to anyone who can shed some light on this.

Rafeinator said:

- if I create a single sector, place a start point in it and try to test the map, it will immeadiately crash with a "segmentation violation" error. Also, in doomsday out it says "W_AddFile: ERROR: T:\Administrator\Temp\59brehhd\mshdwrxo.wad not found!"

If you want one-sector-maps don't make that sector convex.

Rafeinator said: