Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
gggmork

easiest way to read doombuilder 1/2 source?

So far I suspect they're c# .cs file(s), obviously downloadable at the doombuilder website but haven't tried yet.

Should I download "vim" or "emacs" or "notepad++" or something to read them (Maybe a dumb question, but all I really know is drpython for python files)?

Also, can anyone make c# programs for free or is it required to buy some sort of microsoft programming software or something?

I basically want to see how the data for point/line/sector is implemented in doombuilder. For example, having 2 sectors share a line seems a bit tricky as to where to divide the objects into units. My guess is a sort of global list of named points and the sectors merely store the name of the points, thus being able to refer to the same global point that another sector shares with it. That's what worked for me in a pygame program but I'm an amateur.
Or another question like if a sector is merely a list of points (maybe it isn't, I don't know):
[p1,p2,p3,p4], perhaps 'closed' with p4 connected back to p1, then how do you implement line 'objects' with their own methods?
Or is the whole map a single data object, but I doubt it because you can select different sector objects apparently. And that would be a complex object. Still, maybe that would make more sense since otherwise you'd have separate objects sharing lines and points with other objects in a confusing mish mash.

--

In pygame I made a class called Connectoid() that has a list of named points roughly like this (inverted y axis, btw):

class Connectoid():
pointList = [Point(0,0,'topLeft'), Point(10,0,'topRight'), Point(0,10,'bottomLeft'), Point(10,10,'bottomRight')]

Then a list of connections (aka lines), the data of which is the NAMES of the lines 2 endcap points: