Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
awsomerocker123

Different sector lift tagging

So I am making my own personal arena map(in Doom builder) and I have some switches to release whatever monsters i decide to edit in.But I have a problem.You see,I plan on making pits with the monsters in them and having the switches(on a rise you spawn on) lift up the floors of the pits.But I dont know how to link a switch from one sector so when you flip it,the floor in the pit(other sector) rises.

Is there a way to do this?

If not,can you do the same idea but with doors?(switch in one sector opens door in another sector which releases monsters to fight)

And on a side note,how do you pit monsters against each other without having them accidently hit each other?

Thanks and yes...im a noob in doom builder.

You want to assign a floor raising action and a tag to the linedef of your switch, and use that same tag on the sector that needs to be raised.

Once you've done that, a quick way to check to see if the tags are linked properly is to go into Line mode ("L" on keyboard), then mouse over the linedef you've just paired/tagged with the other sector. If they're paired, then the other line/sector should highlight simultaneously.

I do this a lot, because I'm never 100% certain if I've put the right tag number in or not.

P.S. sorry if you knew this already
P.P.S. good luck on your map!

awsomerocker123 said:

.... But I dont know how to link a switch from one sector so when you flip it,the floor in the pit(other sector) rises.

Is there a way to do this?

If not,can you do the same idea but with doors?(switch in one sector opens door in another sector which releases monsters to fight)

And on a side note,how do you pit monsters against each other without having them accidently hit each other?

Thanks and yes...im a noob in doom builder.

Of course there is a way to do this. There are ample examples in DOOM and DOOM2.