Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Charon v9

Simple Question about Level Editing?

Guest Charon v9

I have what I feel is probably a simple question, but I'm not really sure. I'm relatively new to doing any doom editing. Anyway, I want to know how to create a wall/door that is only triggered/opened when a certain group of monsters has been eliminated.

Example: I walk in a room and there is a Baron of Hell. I kill the Baron of Hell and a door opens.

I thought this might be done with tags, but none of the editors I've used allow you to tag monsters(WadAuthor, DETH). Am I overlooking a feature in these programs, or just going about this all the wrong way?

Thanks. =)

Charon
http://www.interactivedeath.net

As I know such feature isn't common for the original Doom (except of map07). You need a doom port like ZDoom/EDGE. Look at scripting tutorials at http://zdoom.notgod.com/zdhtech/

I believe what Blod says is correct, i.e., this effect cannot be achieved with the original DooM/DooM2.exe. The exception to this of course is Map07, Dead Simple, in which the walls around the courtyard come down when all the Mancubuses are dead, and the steps to the exit switch go up when all the spiders are dead. Come to think of it, a similar effect is seen at the end of E1M8, Phobos Anomaly, when the 2 Barons are dead. But in these maps, the effect is "hard-coded" into the .exe file, and I don't believe that you can replicate it.

What you want to achieve can be done in ZDooM, and other source ports as well. In ZDooM, assign an ACS (script) special to the monster that you wish to trigger the action. Write the script (i.e., door opens, floor raises, etc.) for the script number that is assigned to the monster. If you want the action to be triggered only when several enemies are dead, then you have to do it via a "thingcount", which checks that all enemies are dead before performing the action.