Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
MINDDomakr

My Review

Alright, this is my review for Doom 4 since I don't want to call it DOOM or DOOM 2016. I'll use whatever name I want. I've put 10 hours into the game so far.

I'll start off by saying that I waited for this game for about a year and a half, wondering how good it was going to be. I'm new to Doom. I've only played a bit of Doom 3, a few hours on the Classic Doom's and that's about it.

I'm going to get a lot of flack for this but besides the modding aspect, I don't see how the first 2 Dooms were THAT good. For the time they might have been but this game plays much better. The Original Doom had it's fare share of problems that are largely overlooked due to nostalgia. Sometimes the over 40 crowd will find the SMALLEST shit to complain about. It's 2016, not 1993. Things have changed. Change with it and adapt or get left behind.

I figured that this game would have big shoes to fill and I was a bit worried. You know when you just start a game and you get that "feeling" that your in love. Well, it was here with this game.

That said, this game was absolutely amazing and I breathed a sigh of relief when I tried each game mode.

Positives:

- The Soundtrack. Oh. My God. Short of Trent Reznor making it himself like he did for Quake 1, the Industrial/Dark Ambient/slightly metallish NIN sounding soundtrack for this game fits it so well. Big thanks to Mick Gordon and I hope an OST is released. It WOULD have been awesome if Trent made the soundtrack though.

- Movement. The movement is really well paced like in the original Dooms. You can get a Rune that lets you run REALLY fast so you can't complain that the game "isn't fast enough".

- Gore. This game is violent as FUCK. More so than brutal doom. I found myself wincing at some points. This game gets points for how violent and gruesome it is.