Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Marscaleb

What source port should I use for this project?

I'm not sure how far this project is going to get before I get bored or at least get back to work on something more meaningful, but...

I'm planning out a Doom mod I'd like to build. I'm not sure what the term would be called, but I'm thinking I would want to build it exclusively to work with a custom version of a source port so I can go into the code and tweak things and add special game features. (Maybe. I'm just a junior programmer so I don't know how many of the ideas I come up with I would be able to actually implement, but I want to at least try.)

So I'm trying to pick what source port I would want to use, so I went looking at what features were already found in what port. And right away I was drawn to Doom 64 EX, because of its colored lighting effects. I've seen some source ports add in dynamic lighting effects, but they don't perform the same way as what I see in Doom 64. So I'm drawn in to Doom 64 EX *just* for that.

But there are a couple of other things about Doom 64 that I am not so partial toward. Mostly, the game just doesn't have the same feel in the controls. The player is bigger, the monsters are bigger, and the run speed and weapons aren't quite the same. I mean, it's not *bad,* but I do wonder about improving it.
So I'm left to wonder if it would be more practical to try to implement Doom 64's colored lighting effect into another source port, or if it would be easier to revert Doom 64's basic gameplay back to match classic Doom. Offhand I would assume the latter would be easier; I would suspect that it is just a matter of tweaking the numbers in a bunch of existing variables. (A lot of variables, for every monster and thing, but still.) Even so, I want to ask before I try to sludge through the source code, because hey, maybe someone else already did it.