Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Marscaleb

My wad has inexplicably turned floors black

So, I had built a custom wad for a convention. The wad was just a collection of maps from Doom and Doom II, all in one wad so I didn't have to keep changing games.
I'm new to wad editing, but I learned how to copy over patches and textures, which was needed because there were many textures in Doom 1 that are not in Doom II. I ultimately copied over every patch from Doom 1 and my texture file for the wad includes all the textures from Doom 1 and 2. Oh, and some skies from TNT.

Overall, it worked great, in case you were wondering. But while this is all still fresh in my head, I decided to expand this wad for next year's event.
Specifically, I decided I wanted to bring in maps from Doom 64. I found the wad for Doom 64 Absolution (because I figured it was starting closer to being compatible with regular Doom 2) and copied over all of its patches, flats, and textures, as well as a few choice levels. (Which I have to spend a lot of time cleaning up to get them functional.)

But something in this wad has somehow caused floors in some maps to turn completely black. I notice in particular that FLOOR4_8 has turned solid black; the floor that covers most of E1M1.

I am not sure how this happened. There is nothing overriding the original flat, and in fact, it looks fine when I am inside Doom Builder. But when I load it up in ZDaemon (which is what I use at the con because of its multiplayer options) that floor turns black.

I'm not sure what the problem is, so I am reaching out for help. Has someone come across this before? Or do you have any ideas of what I should check first to narrow down what the problem might be?

I would post the wad so folks could poke around in it, but since it is almost nothing but commercial content, I think I could get in trouble for that.

I see a floor flat and I want to paint it black