Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
LordShadowZ

My first map that I'd like critiqued

Hello, I'm fairly new to mapping and this forum as well. I've worked on and completed a couple maps and I have one I'm fairly happy with so far that I'd like to have critiqued and analyzed so I can further improve my mapping. This map is designed to be a vanilla-like Hell level that is intended to be a Map20 something in a potential megawad. It has only been tested in GZDoom and has no obvious bugs I am aware of. I know I still need to do a lot of detail work and improve lighting in areas, but this is just an alpha version.

Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/17uom6jj9osq1j6/Lavalevel.wad?dl=0

Recommended: TNT IWAD + cc4falls.wad otherwise the map will have two missing textures, but won't affect the gameplay.

Screenshots:

The volcano

Spoiler

Cave system
Spoiler

Lava maze
Spoiler

Be brutally honest. Is it too easy/hard? Ammo or health too plentiful/scarce? Boring, uninteresting, or unbalanced rooms? Any criticisms or compliments, please let me know. Any tips for improving architecture, how to detail, improve lighting? Anything that will help me improve my overall mapping for the future.

Thanks

Update: Lower difficulties added, minor ammo balance tweaks.
Update 2: More ammo balancing, on lower difficulties it is slightly less scarce. Added ammo stash secret. Link above is up to date.

Thanks for the response, I've implemented that into my build of the map now. I still could use more feedback so I can learn what isn't working as well as I think and continue doing tweaks and refinement before I move on to heavier detail work.

Well, I'll start with criticizing your post. Always add screenshots or a short video to give people some sort of point of reference.

Where are the monsters?

And also, the metal grate/railing in front of the red skull door is not impassible.