Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
AxiomOfDeath

Technotoxin - Work In Progress

Hi, this is my first post here. I'm a casual Doom mapper (primarily a mathematics student and researcher) and this is my first time sharing any of my creations.

What I'm sharing today is a map whose physical appearance is heavily inspired by the first episode of the first Doom. I know this is not an exciting or original concept; I have better things in the works, but for now this will do. It replaces E1M7 in the original Doom (you'll have to manually skip to it, sorry) and unless I'm mistaken it requires only DOOM.WAD, an engine to run it (I use GZDoom), and of course my wad:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/td6gxx9f6nvwggv/AoDtest1.wad

It is UNFINISHED but CAN be beaten. I started building it three days ago and have spent maybe 18 hours total on it. Notable problems: Some switches do nothing (yet), several boring empty spaces that I just haven't had time to fill, too many former sergeants (maybe you disagree, let me know), and many misaligned textures and wonky architecture. Among many other things.

I emphasize that despite the current flaws, the level can be beaten. And even though there is a lot of work to be done, the overall feel, flow, and essence of the level is apparent in its current form. There will be no major changes to, for example, the order in which keys and their respective doors are seen and subsequently made accessible. I share this because I want feedback. I feel I do a pretty good job of noting the problems, but I'd like other people's perspectives too.

So please give any feedback whatsoever regarding any aspect of this work. I will give all suggestions a reasonable amount of consideration.

Also the name, Technotoxin, is something I thought of in about 3 seconds but I think it gets at the heart of the matter: computers and slime.