Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
watto3699

Mapping Tips

Hey everyone, 

I'm new to Doom world and equally Doom Mapping. I just looking for tips to make my maps look more aesthetically pleasing and some game play ideas to base my maps around. Also if someone can help me with stopping Monsters from other sectors from responding to gun fire because once I start shooting they all pour from around the map.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Watto

2 minutes ago, watto3699 said:

I'm new to Doom world and equally Doom Mapping. I just looking for tips to make my maps look more aesthetically pleasing and some game play ideas to base my maps around.

Play and replay maps you like until you start getting a lot of cool ideas on your own. I could tell you things like 'use monsters in such a way that they put conflicting movement demands on the player' and 'use resources to push the player to explore further' and so on, but without knowing exactly what type of maps you want to make, it's hard to give advice efficiently. So a follow-up question would be what sort of gameplay you want to design: Doom 2 'classic' stuff, modern run 'n' gun, high-octane slaughter, etc.? Because then it might be possible to give specific advice or even point you towards threads

2 minutes ago, watto3699 said:

Also if someone can help me with stopping Monsters from other sectors from responding to gun fire because once I start shooting they all pour from around the map.