Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Neurosis

Promoting Your Work Effectively

i'm kind of nervous right now because I'm ready to release a 10 track album soon. Now i've been making music for 10 years now but only ever shared it with people who were close to me. Now? I actually want to make a career out of it, and yes I'm gonna be realistic but also I'm gonna be optimistic about it too. This isn't just about me, I wanna hear what everyone else has done as well.

So here's a broad question: how do you promote your work? how do you promote your music, your videos, your writings, etc and how can you do it effectively? what platforms do you use and how do you find your audience? how do you network with people who only wanna promote their own material without bothering to check yours, and how can you avoid the same mistake? 

For me I've been reading up about this and apparently it might be best for me to contact some blogs that are in my "area" of expertise, or rather blogs with an audience that I know would gravitate toward my product. I also make sure to listen to peoples' music before I even try to pester them with mine, and I always make sure to strike up an actual conversation and try to get to know them better before unleashing my art on them. I've seen too many people who are gung ho about marketing but all they do is spam you with the (ir)relevant info instead of treating you like a human. 

And soundcloud is about to go down, right? So where else can I go?

But I would really like to know how everyone else promotes their art, if you were successful or not and if you can provide us any tips, it would be great. Thanks