Don't you hate it when you get distracted for a while and you can't complete your wads?

I have this wad I'm working on, started mid-july, and I was supposed to finish it 3 weeks ago.

But multiple times my eye catches something glittery, and I stay on it for a while till I move on to the next thing, occasionally I map a little bit into my wad but that's it.

This wad is a little more than half done but at the rate I'm going it will take till Christmas.

WHY MUST PSYCHOLOGY BE SO ANNOYING!?

Edited by Eric the Sandvich
1 person likes this

I read the title and thought this was gonna be a rant about your girlfriend keeping you busy that you cant finish your work.

EDIT: title was changed so this no longer holds true

Edited by Royal_Sir

Most of my "distractions" thus far have been trying to figure out how to get some things to work since I am a noob lol. But now I have all the basic things I need out of the way so I can finally start on it for real

I can relate. My latest Doom mapping effort took me two years to finish because I kept getting distracted regularly. Doesn't help that I always have at least two projects going at once either.

Try speedmapping. Giving yourself a really stringent timeframe like an hour or two can be a great exercise for seeing what you can achieve given an intense period of solid focus, and for lowering your loftiest, most unrealistic ambitions to a more comfortable, accomplishable level.

7 people like this

For many years now, I have been in the middle of projects when I get ideas for another project. I drop the first one and start on the second, become enthused with my ideas, and let the first one fall by the wayside. I'm currently juggling 3 projects spanning 26 maps; one of the projects has been in the works since 2012, and another since 2013. [I'm almost done with the 2012-era project, so I'll likely have more time for the 2013-era one.]

Talk about being distracted by shiny objects.

1 person likes this