Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Payload4367

(Update/Fix) Dark Encounters 32 map MegaWad

Using this thread as reference would easier than copy paste your map text file. Anyway, I saw this on fb already. Cool stuff. I wonder how this it will turn out in reality when I'll play it.

This looks nice judging by the trailer and description. For atmospheric survival levels like these I really like the concept of making ammo sparse and rewarding exploration.

Though I haven't seen that style work out as well in Doom maps as in other FPS games, the additional options of GZDoom look most promising to me when it comes to more complex and atmoshperic maps, so I'm looking forward to seeing how they're being used for this project.

On 16-10-2017 at 1:36 AM, Payload4367 said:

I honestly don't know. I have zero experience with Zandronum. No reason, just never got around to trying it.

I'm currently hosting this wad on a Zan3.0 server. It is just great in terms of design and gameplay.

However some maps appear to be broken, i heard from some visitors. I have not been able to pin down the problems/maps. Maybe It's just because it has not been designed explicitely for MP or it can be broken cause it uses features that are not available in GZDoom.

eg. in map 6 there is a problem with some stairs not going up for some reason (just from hearing not actually experiencing/playing)

First impressions so far (I'm about 10 - 12 maps in so far):

I'm absolutely in love with the level design. Just enough modern/GZDoom mapping tricks used to enhance the levels without going overboard. It feels like just the right amount of slopes, 3D floors, and scrips are used to make for an experience that still feels vanilla while not being vanilla, if that makes any sense. :P