Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
MuD

Spawning Enemies

Hey all

I'm a noob at doom mapping, infact I havent made a proper map yet...
After playing Deus Vult I decided I wanted to make some maps of my own, it was mainly the awesome architecture that inspired me ;) What I want to know is how to make enemies teleport somewhere when you set off a trigger, for example on the first part of Deus Vult when all those imps appear.

BTW I'm using doom builder

Thanks

You need to make a room to hold Your monsters somewhere away from the map. Place monsters there and also build there a teleport. Simple, when monsters start moving in that room they will teleport to Your specific location-meaning they will "spawn" there. I presume You know how to make teleports.
Now, because they are away from the map and cannot hear You, You should build something like airducts from that would connect a room from Your map with the room with the monsters, so the sound can travel trough there, so the monsters can hear You, when You roam the level (You, the player). Make them 1 unit high (the "ducts"). When You fire in that room the monsters will hear the sound and will be activated, they won't stand, they will start to move randomly and will walk into the teleport eventually. They will get teleported to the specific location.
Now, when You want them to appear in a specific moment, place a door by the teleport sector in the room with the monsters so they won't walk into the teleport, which will be blocked because of the doors. Place a line at the point in Your map, that when You cross it, it'll open the doors blocking the teleport and will enable the monsters to be teleported to the location. Get it? Doors open once the player crosses a line in the map, the monsters roaming inside will walk and will be teleported eventually, i.e. they will spawn at the place.
Feel free to ask anything more. Hope this helps. Now go make some maps! :-)