Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Ezxariarch

What a good level/map needs?

Hello, I'm new at making levels and just uploaded a 6 map preview of a 18 (or so) megawad into /idgames. These are my first 6 serious levels that actually has a point and follows through with each other. I was testing it and i noticed that (for me, atleast) these were not too hard. I've been playig doom 2 for a long long time, so i'm not sure how hard to make my levels to actually make it hard without being a slaughter like Alien Vendetta.

where I'm getting at is that, What does a good doom level need?

1) Does each level have to have enough ammo for you to kill every monster (and open gun activated secrets)? (if you had nothing but you pistol at the start).

2) Is having 10 secret areas too much for a relatively large map? (about the size twice the size of map 20 in doom 2)

3) Does having more than 1 cyberdemon or Spidermasterminds in 1 room make the map stupid? (some people thinks so)

4) Does levels have to be dark? Like those of Alien Vendetta to get a good "DOOM" feel out of it? (Most of mine are...pretty bright)

5) Is there such a thing as too many traps (teleporters that makes you telefrag barrels and go boom, Evilution telefrag trap in map 30, crushers, lava pits appearing outta nowhere, teleporting monsters, etc). A lot of my levels have quite a few traps (though experience players can usually tell), does it make it annoying for newer players?

6) What kinda ammo should be used most? Most of my levels are Shotgun/shell oriented since it's pretty much the only thing I use besides the BFG. Does it make it bad there there are more shells then everything else?