Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
smellycheeseman

Fully custom mod

Alright, make a long story short I want to sequel a game I made and I want it to be a doom mod. I'd like to do custom graphics and stuff for this game. I'll not only need custom graphics I'll need custom weapons, custom enemys, custom textures, all that good stuff. Though I'm a novice at doom builder, I'm fairly good at this kind of stuff. Basically what I'm asking is there any tutorials you suggest I read? Are there any tips you have for me? I currently am using doom builder, SLumpEd, and zdoom. Any body got any tips for me?

Yup. Forget all about custom monsters, graphics and weapons for now, and focus on developing your Doom Builder skills. Practice making good levels with the stock Doom resources. Once you have that down, then start thinking about your custom content again.

I agree with those guys. Learn the basics of mapping, then start looking at and really studying some maps that you think are really great, both in-game and in Doom Builder. Study their layouts, architecture, monster and item placement, etc. Shamelessly ripping off other peoples' maps is a great way to learn, though of course you don't want to release the result unless you can turn it into something original. :P

deathbringer said:

Where's the original game? If it's awesome people might want to help you

lol, I was wondering if somebody would ask about it. Its actually an RPG. I have no idea what its about.

http://thefridgegames.com/g/ranpow.html

But alright, I'll see what I can do. I've worked with a program like DB before(lol @ marathon forge).

Also just another quick, random question, Is there a possibility for videos inbetween levels, you know, like cutscenes.(I animate too by the way).

Thanks for the help :)

smellycheeseman said:

I was wondering if somebody would ask about it. Its actually an RPG. I have no idea what its about.