Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
40oz

Dehacked Help [SOLVED]

This computer I'm using at the moment doesn't have dehacked or whacked or any other doom editing utilities on it, so for the purpose of simply changing automap map names, I decided i'd just use notepad (which I've never used for dehacked before).

I'm creating a dehacked patch for Plutonia 1024, so I copied the dehacked patch from Plutonia 2 to use as a template. Here's what I have so far:

Patch File for DeHackEd v3.0

# Note: Use the pound sign ('#') to start comment lines.

Doom version = 19
Patch format = 6

Text 14 12
level 1: congolevel 1: mt lazarev

Text 22 20
level 2: well of soulslevel 2: tenochtitlan

but when I tested it in prboom, the title on MAP01 read LEVEL 1: MT and MAP02 read LEVEL 2: TENOCHTITLA. What's going on here, is there like a character limit or something?

SOLVED: Yes! there is a character limit. The second number after "Text" is the number of characters for that line. I thought it identified the string or something. I'll go be dumb somewhere else now.

All non-boom strings have a character limit. For map names it's usually the length of the original string + 3 characters, but for some it's fewer. At least for normal Doom/Doom 2, I don't know about Plutonia.

But isn't Plutinya Boom format? Then you can use Boom strings, which have virtually no limit. (You might run into problems if the string is longer than can be displayed on the automap screen in some ports, I'm not sure. It doesn't come up often.)

The format for Plutonia is like this:

# General version information
Doom version = 21
Patch format = 6

[STRINGS]
PHUSTR_1 = level 1: congo
PHUSTR_2 = level 2: well of souls
PHUSTR_30 = level 30: the gateway of hell

The order of the strings doesn't matter, but don't have any blank lines between strings.

More info about Boom strings can be found at https://github.com/fragglet/mbf/blob/master/boomdeh.txt