Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
MeteoXavier

Questions on Total Conversion Modding

Hi there, I'll introduce myself as pretty much a complete newb at building games and I won't make any pretense to hide it. For about 6 weeks now, I've found myself obsessed with the idea of wanting to make a total-conversion FPS game based on the FreeDoom engine and sell it for like $3 on a bunch of the indie markets out and about. I'll also be transparent that I'm thinking 98% on ambition alone and what little is left being relegated to rational thinking and reality.

I've tried to do my homework on the subject for a while now, but it seems as though I might get the straightest answers just asking the forum here:

1. Does the GNU license on Freedoom allow me to use its engine as a template to design levels, build new gameplay resources, and edit code to create a game I intend to make (some) money on? A reasonably simple YES or NO will suffice, and if not, I will honor the license and not attempt it.

If yes,

2. Are any of the custom made graphics that I've seen posted here for monsters and weapons (ones not generated/edited from licensed Doom designs) part of any royalty free pack or could be licensed for my use for a reasonable price? I don't know if I want to be bold enough to ask if they're public domain, and even though I am trying to be pretty cheap about this, I will not cheat anyone out of money to get what I want.

I intend to design brand new levels, music, and whatever programming I can do within the engine/template to make this prospective game unique on my own, but the graphics and whether I'm ok to start like this are where I'm having trouble at.