• More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
JohnCook1994

For Doom Builder, what is the PK3 for?

Hello,

I have wondered what is a pk3 file meant
" http://zdoom.org/wiki/Using_ZIPs_as_WAD_replacement "

I was excited about everything, but confused as well with sprites. I tried to add Mr. Tormenter667's Tortured Soul, then added that to a sprite category with SS_Start, Graphics, lastly SS_End. For like an impaled Doomguy, they are also for the sprite category, that part I was super confused (@_@?).
Textures, like walls and flats, are meant for the Texture folders. Graphics are for Credits, Titlepic and some other image.

-How to organize an monster, weapon, or prop inside the Sprite category
-How to organize Flats and Textures (GZDoom Builder cannot find the flats -_-)
-Is GZDOOM Builder meant for wad files only for mapping?

Take time, no rush. I am just pretty new in level designing.

Thank you,

~JohnCook1994 [PsychoX]

JohnCook1994 said:

-Is GZDOOM Builder meant for wad files only for mapping?

Yes, exactly.

GZDoom Builder is used only for building your map architecture.
However, it also has functionality for building scripts.
To see what GZDoom Builder is used for, take a look at the feature list here
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32392

For everything else you use a lump editor like Slade3, although it also has a map editor built in.
To have a look at it's feature set, take a look at
http://slade.mancubus.net/index.php?page=wiki

To answers your question "Why PK3?"

Ordinarily, every lump is merged into a wad file, using the correct namespaces.
However, if one makes a map with a great number of textures, sprites, models, sounds etc.,
then using a pk3 file structure can help when lumps, for one reason or other, are deleted or added on.

[edit]
grammar check :)