Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Julian

Misfortune

Hi, Lightning Hunter.

I managed somehow to download your zip file. I'd say the shots are a little bit under-detailed but that doesn't mean they're bad. It takes quite a long time to learn mapping and I'm still learning myself.

You *are* doing good work, and I hope you continue. Keep it up. Large projects these days tend to die out before they're finished, which is why some of these people are cynical.

My advice is to do as much as possible. If somehow it reaches the point where you can't finish it, release what you have. Take a break, then try something different later.

It's a long process to learn detail and so forth. I'll help you out by kicking your butt every time you think of quitting :)

Actually, I HAVE learned detail recently :) Most of those screenshots were taken from my early levels in the pack. Levels 6-11 are very detailed compared to levels 1-5. But I did go through and add as much detail as I possibly could in levels 1-5. Trust me, I am spending a lot of time on just making detail, choosing the right textures, and aligning them. Thanks for your post anyway :) I have learned a lot over the past year about how to map. (I started this project about a year ago) But just recently I got serious about finishing it up and releasing it on the internet.

I will finish this project, but your right about taking breaks :) I already took a 4 month break during the first year of working on this project and played the old Quake. Actually, I wasnt going to announce this project and was just going to realease it when I was done. Recently I decided to announce it, because When people are counting on me to finish a project up, I tend to get more into it :)