sargebaldy

pronunciation poll #15173.97

how do you say UAC?  

51 members have voted

1. 1. how do you say UAC?

• U.A.C.
    • U-ack
    • This thread would be much nicer with a little imprape

how do you prononunce UAC? because i've been pronouncing it like u-ack for nearly 10 years and then heard it in teh doom3 vid as U.A.C. i hadn't felt so stupid since 1996 when i finally learned id was pronounced id and not I.D. heh.

anyway, which do you say?

sargebaldy said:

how do you prononunce UAC? because i've been pronouncing it like u-ack for nearly 10 years and then heard it in teh doom3 vid as U.A.C. i hadn't felt so stupid since 1996 when i finally learned id was pronounced id and not I.D. heh.

anyway, which do you say?

Yeah, it's an acronym. Could be a number of things, but perhaps United Areospace Corporation? Who knows...

Mancubus II said:

Yeah, it's an acronym. Could be a number of things, but perhaps United Areospace Corporation? Who knows...

heh uh, i know it's Union Aerospace Corporation, but some you do pronounce out, like PETA, NASA, NAFTA, NAMBLA, FEMA, ASCII, ASAP, etc.

sargebaldy said:

heh uh, i know it's Union Aerospace Corporation, but some you do pronounce out, like PETA, NASA, NAFTA, NAMBLA, FEMA, ASCII, ASAP, etc.

UNION, that's it. Only united came to mind.

UAC is for ham salad.

it's you aye see, though I suppose it's open either way, for instance IRC is pronounced 'erk' by many and 'eye are see' by others (personally I dislike the former)

UAC is a bit weird to pronounce as a sound tho heh

There's a tendency, but AFAIK no firm rule, to pronounce acronyms as if they were ordinary words.