Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Fonze

Doom Battle Chess

Would you like to see a Doom-based Battle Chess game?  

48 members have voted

1. 1. Would you like to see a Doom-based Battle Chess game?

• Yes! I'd even be willing to pledge some cash, too.
    • Yes, but I dont want to pay for it.
    • Not worth it/Don't care.
    • No.

Dude that looks amazing. It's certainly more than I imagined, but in a good way. I can tell that one of your passions is the aesthetics of it, and they're looking great!

But don't you worry about the animations later? They can't all face the camera at all times. With the full camera control all the monsters will have to have animations for all angles. Which are already present in Doom, given, but seems like it might be a lot more work. Of course, I'm no programmer, so maybe it's not, but I would think that the animations would be the trickiest part.

Using that as a screensaver would be funny, especially if you could somewhat randomize the computers actions against itself so each game weren't the same. But that's all extra stuff. I love what I'm seeing so far.

*Edit*
I just thought of something else, the board might be best a bit bigger like the screenshots with squares 100 pixels wide. 64 might not be big enough to house, say, a mancubus fighting a cyberdemon. But you'll be the first to know how it's really gonna look, so I'm sure you got it on the right track.

Thanks! Its certainly more than I imagined too! I didn't think I'd be making a 3D board, but the 2D board just didn't look Doom. I'm surprised that the imgur video has had 60 views in 6 hours.

As for the animations, I figure that's not my job. Like a stewardess doesn't worry about piloting a plane. All of the pieces do have a direction, just not the sprite to look like they're facing the direction.