Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
cr0wb4r

Freedoom Status Bar

First thread and post and I intend to show some work I've decided to do to contribute towards Freedoom since they were asking for an artist to improve the Status Bar background. I'm a game developer in training and I've had some experience with 2D pixel art which is why I decided to lend a hand to Freedoom.

The HUD I've made is built from the ground up following DOOM's style. It's 640x64. I made use of colours on the DOOM colour palette for the colours. Emulating the font style of Freedoom's current Statusbar background. Any input on what could be improved would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

play with different shades of yellow and red on the fonts (darker ones). blue is fighting with brown very hard. you could try a few claw marks on the status bar (well that was the first thing that came to mind when i first saw it, hehe).

Those parts are not, unfortunately.

This one has a bad color selection. I can only barely read the blue text on top of the yellow-ish brown. I think it's also far too flat and plain looking, even moreso than the current Freedoom status bar.

We should have a more interesting status bar entirely. Try ditching the idea of putting ammo, health, arms, etc in their own boxes and do something more creative with it.

Thanks for looking into this. We definitely need to improve the status bar.

One thing that definitely needs to be changed is the text. I don't know why you've preserved the current text in your mock up - it's really ugly. Ideally we should be aiming for something that matches the font used for the menu and heads-up text, maybe not exactly but at least in general style.