Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
jupiter_ex

Hi. I wanna contribute some original music to Freedoom

Hi, I play Freedoom oftenly, and I would really want to see it finally mature. Music is one of the things I've noticed is not entirely great. And I would really like to contribute some original music. I'm a professional musician and I have done music for some games before.
Also, the Freedoom page says music is one of the things you're looking for help about.
I'm not sure whom to talk to.

Go right ahead. No ones stopping you.
If your music is good/better than what Freedoom has now, you can be sure it'll be added.

ahm.. do you guys have any song or level in mind where you would like the music to be replaced? or maybe you were already perfectly happy with all the music?
Any tone in particular? action, suspense.. I don't know
I've had a previous experience trying to submit sprites for the game in here that stalled due to lack of feedback / attention. Anyway I see since then someone did a pretty good job with new sprites.
I don't know, perhaps I'm wrong. I'd like to see Freedoom to be fully blown as a game, with at least the same dedication some doom mods around there have. I think FD is a good idea. I work in game development and I can't help but feeling everytime I play FD the impulse to go like "damn, I'll just commit better sounds asap". I'll try to come up with something, I suppose

EDIT: anybody else doing this job, would be perfectly fine for me. I just want to play FD and feel the same excitement as when I play, I don't know, Beautiful Doom, Smooth Doom, Project Brutality why not, or any other whatsoever

Tbh, many people have different tastes, so it's hard to to tell whats "good" and whats "bad". Why don't you make a MIDI, share it, and let others decide which level it should occupy? It worked for the completely new tracks present throughout Chapter 3.