Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
RestlessRodent

I made a Source port graph!

I hope I don't step on Dani's toes here and not being a developer I hope I got it all correct:

Originally, there was no Doomsday. Rather there was three entirely separate ports created by Skyjake: JHeXen, JHeretic and JDoom in that order of release.

Eventually though, one could imagine that maintaining three completely separate port's became tiresome because Skyjake created an engine, the Doomsday Engine, to handle some of the common functions between the afore mentioned three port's. As Dani has said, near all of the Doomsday Engine was written from scratch. But there is also a little Doom code in there.

What was JDoom, JHeretic and JHeXen became plugins for this new engine. Other than the afore mentioned, all the code used from the original games is contained in these plugins.

The Doomsday Engine itself does not require anything from the plugins to function. But obviously the plugins require the Doomsday Engine to work.

The plan for the near future of the Doomsday Engine appears to be to recreate more of the common code in the three game plugins using new code in the Doomsday Engine itself, not to mention as Dani has stated, the engine has very recently used some code from PrBoom. But of course Dani could probably elaborate further on that.

I'm pretty sure Final Doom is derived from Ultimate Doom.

There were multiple versions of SMMU and Eternity wasn't derived from the final one, although I can't remember much about the versions now; ask Quasar, as he seems to know more about SMMU versions than I do :-)

Wasn't Skulltag derived from csDoom/ZDaemon?

You've missed out Chex Quest!

GhostlyDeath said:

What is strife based off anyway?

Strife came out in 1996, by which time Id had release Quake, so it's safe to say that it was Doom 1.9.

fraggle said:
I'm pretty sure Final Doom is derived from Ultimate Doom.

True...