Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
LordMeow

Framebuffer management on modern software rendered source ports

Hello everybody,

I'm going to ask a, maybe, trivial question, but I would like to have a bird's view before looking into it.

I am a little familiar with some parts of the Doom source code, but the last time I studied it heavily was when DOSDoom still ruled (go figure!).

I wonder how exactly Chocolate Doom and other current ports (such as Eternity) do their framebuffer thins. I assume all of the more modern, non 3D accelerated ports are based on SDL, so I wonder how they model their framebuffer, how this FB is converted to an SDL surface, and at which point, and also if there are some caveats to have into account.

Simply pointing me to the correct set of files in the sources (no matter in which modern port) would suffice, since I'm right now far from home and I plan on doing it when I get back, I hope some of you can point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

In Eternity the buffers the game draws into directly are generally separate from whatever low-level device exists, in order to allow for full abstraction of the "blit" process.

High level video is initialized here:
https://github.com/team-eternity/eternity/blob/master/source/v_misc.cpp

The raw screens[0] array is also wrapped with a VBuffer object, which is implmented here:
https://github.com/team-eternity/eternity/blob/master/source/v_buffer.cpp

Low-level video on the other hand is implemented with classes that derive from the generic HALVideoDriver interface, which is implemented here:
https://github.com/team-eternity/eternity/blob/master/source/hal/i_video.cpp

There are currently two child classes of this interface, the "SDL" software renderer, and the "SDL GL2D" hardware renderer: