Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
VGA

Comprehensive Doom95 guide for newer Windows

Yes, indeed the mouse works, I had just forgotten to tick the 'Use Mouse' box - silly me. Thanks for the fullscreen tip too. Could you please explain how you get the music to sound better? I've heard something about using different midifonts or something, but I have no experience of that. I've also read that it doesn't work on Windows 10 anymore, though I'm not sure.

Cire said:

Yes, indeed the mouse works, I had just forgotten to tick the 'Use Mouse' box - silly me. Thanks for the fullscreen tip too. Could you please explain how you get the music to sound better? I've heard something about using different midifonts or something, but I have no experience of that. I've also read that it doesn't work on Windows 10 anymore, though I'm not sure.

http://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/virtualmidisynth
Go to the forum, register and grab the latest alpha version.

Install that and point it to patch93's SC-55 soundfont. If after installation it is not the default midi device, some registry tweaking is needed:
http://pcaudiohelp.com/how-to-change-the-default-midi-device-in-vista-and-window-7/

It is using the bassmisi library.

I know I should let Doom95 die, but I tried messing around with it again and kinda made some progress I think. I got it to show the image over the whole screen, not squashed into the left corner anymore. Although the problem with the palette bug still seem to persist. I'm using Windows 10 with latest updates and latest GeForce driver available as of yet (361.75 I belive). Here's how I did it:

Install all patches for Doom95
Go to compatibility settings and tick Everything. Choose Windows 95.
Start Doom95 WITHOUT -emulate
Choose 640x480 and windowed mode.

Now we just need to figure out a way to get the colors right. :-/