Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Agar

Doomed Again - A high-res sprites mod for Doom (and more...)

Now that the website is online, I can finally make an "official" announcement about the project I've been working on for a few months: Doomed Again

Doomed Again is a complete remake of the classic Doom games based on the EDGE sourceport, featuring high-resolution sprites and textures, improved sounds, and a whole new way to create Doom levels.

FEATURES:

* 90 levels.
* Completely new high-resolution sprites for all monsters, weapons, scenery and items.
* A handful of new weapons and enemies.
* An all-new level editor.

There's a lot to say and I won't bother you with a huge post. You can find more info HERE, or watch gameplay videos here: Video #1 - Video #2 (the videos are quite dark, make sure you view it in fullscreen mode).

So, my fellow doomers, do you have any comments or suggestions ?

Looks cool.

The shotgun is too high up, it points above the crosshair.

Also, I think the editor is looking a little too simple.

I also worry about the legality of this venture.

webpage (editor) said:

Random map generator

can this be use to make layout with out monsters and items?

DuckReconMajor said:

Looks cool.

The shotgun is too high up, it points above the crosshair.

Yes, this is one of the many glitches I still have to fix. :)

Also, I think the editor is looking a little too simple.

Well, I've always wanted to create a "wolfensteinesque" editor for Doom, and I still think that extremely simple levels are often the most interesting, gameplay-wise.

Plus it's still possible to create levels with Doombuilder or any other WAD editor. I'm merely providing an alternative.

I also worry about the legality of this venture.

Really ? Why ?

As far as I know, I didn't use any copyrighted material. I created all sprites using Poser.