Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
dew

d2shorts

i had an idea to make a puzzle wad based on famous map exploits/tricks in doom2.wad. i am ridiculously bad at map editing and i steal small parts of iwad maps, so don't be shy to call me out. on the other hand i play it dirty and you will struggle to complete these maps. :p

right now it's just two maps based on doom2 map27 and map16. i plan to add more, but i need a big break after building a door for at least 15 minutes and aligning teleporter flats for another 2 hours. this is my first attempt at mapping and it's so bad... anyways.

all of the maps should be possible to speedrun or max. the means to it differ greatly depending on difficulty. anyone should be able to complete HNTR and HMP is still within reach of players with some knowledge of doom engine exploits, although some studying of the maps in an editor might be necessary. the difficulty i planned for originally is UV with Boom features, this is where only the strongest and wisest will prevail. :p regular vanilla doom2 UV is crazy hard, although still supported and theoretically possible.

current wip:
http://www.mediafire.com/?y5v5gvdva6txylr

please don't yell at me for being totally incompetent at texturing.

-----------
EDIT:

original links are dead, so i reuploaded what i could find.

d2shorts: http://www.mediafire.com/?q9luv5l753tf3f5
ggg's solutions for d2shorts: http://www.mediafire.com/?xssdc7bd8af0sj4
ggg's trick1 wad (with solution): http://www.mediafire.com/?md7mu7nrbakb9eu

Unless I'm missing something, there appears to be a problem with map 16.

The red skullkey is near the exit lines, and the player needs the red skullkey to open sector 9. It appears to me impossible to obtain the key since teleporting from line 78, the player arrives at coordinates x 1024 y 944 ( T64 ).

Mapping isn't too hard. Make a couple practice maps by messing around with editor functions and you'll be on your way :)