Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Marnetmar

QUIVER - A new TC for [Eternity?] [Still in Planning Stages, NOTHING is Official]

I actually like Freedoom quite a lot. I think it's a bit weird that there's all this enthusiasm for a completely new project, but not so much to improve Freedoom. I'm not really good at anything, but whenever I have some free time I do something for it, like modifying a texture, making maps, etc. If I could I would definetly work on Freedoom instead of starting something entirely new, but then again, everyone's taste is different, and I see you're all pumped up, so I can only say go for it!

DooMAD said:

A nice swirly Episode 4 style sky:
Also, a comparison between mine and the originals.

Also changed the title to hopefully solve this problem, plus indicate that we seem to have gone away from the whole Freedoom thing.

Nice textures, Ed!

Use3D said:

This one should replace the whole engine and while we're at it lets make a new operating system to run it in, called SodaDos.

I can tell that you're just kidding in this sentence, but the rest of your post was serious, am I correct?

cbronson said:

I think it's a bit weird that there's all this enthusiasm for a completely new project, but not so much to improve Freedoom.

Since there's so little coherent theme in FreeDoom, might as well start a new project, since if one were to try to 'fix' FreeDoom, they would just end up replacing about everything in there anyway.

I like this idea a lot; I'd be willing to contribute a map or two once this project gets on the ground.

In regards to the theme, I really liked the whole "spirit world" idea that was thrown around earlier. Maybe the setting could be an oriental/steampunk hybrid, and in the later levels you go into the spirit world? I've always been fond of night settings, too.