Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Agentbromsnor

Relation to Doom, the game

NiuHaka said:

Well, to be fare to all those who don't create their own content, it isn't really as simple as you are trying to make it sound. This kind of thing takes talent, skill, experience and a great deal of time to accomplish.

I am a professional designer and I can still attest to the feeling of euphoria you can get by just creating a great map that uses all vanilla or even assets quickly ripped from other games. You have still created something. You just didn't create your own canvas and paints.

I think there is a difference between the way you approach this and the way much of the community approaches this. It seems that you create things for the community while people, such as myself, create things for themselves. You will feel accomplished when someone loves your work. I will feel accomplished when I love my own work. I can see how that can be frustrating for you.

Then we come back to the earlier point, of knowing what you get yourself into when you take on a big project like that. There are plenty of people (myself included) that enjoy making sprites and textures, its all a matter of organizing modder with a simular interest and working together on creating original content.

I'm not frustrated when somebody loves their work, ofcourse. I'm frustrated by the fact that somebody presents nothing more then a tray of poo (just an extreme example), and the community proceeds to praise him for it. To me thats the wrong order of things. I'm not saying you have to satisfy the community, they have nothing to do with it. Art is personal (like it should be). I just wish some people would take this 'art form' a little more serious sometimes.

It's Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."

Or, "99% of everything is shit".