Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Scorpius

Joining community projects

Just a quick thing I wanted to know about since I'm relatively new to the DOOM community. If I wanted to join a community project that interested me, how would I do that? I'm not saying I want to join one now, but maybe in the near future. Also, any other comments and advice on how to follow project rules, what to expect, communication, etc. would be appreciated. Maybe you can share your experiences with projects and other good stuff. Thanks!

Having participated in at least 5 projects, I'd say nothing besides keeping an eye on the project's thread and see if any of the project's rules change, you just request a map slot and work on your map, and try to deliver it before the deadline (If there is one). you want to keep an eye on the thread after you post your map, others may be willing to test your map and give you feedback on how to improve it, report bugs for you to fix before release.

2 minutes ago, tempdecal.wad said:

Having participated in at least 5 projects, I'd say nothing besides keeping an eye on the project's thread and see if any of the project's rules change, you just request a map slot and work on your map, and try to deliver it before the deadline (If there is one). you want to keep an eye on the thread after you post your map, others may be willing to test your map and give you feedback on how to improve it, report bugs for you to fix before release.

Thanks for this info. May I ask where would I request a map slot. Would I have to just comment on the dev thread or email the project lead?

Just now, Scorpius said:

Thanks for this info. May I ask where would I request a map slot. Would I have to just comment on the dev thread or email the project lead?

Just leave a comment on the thread.

8 minutes ago, Scorpius said:

If I wanted to join a community project that interested me, how would I do that?