Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Aseph

My computer almost melted

Right, so I fired up my copy of "Condemned: Criminal Origins" on my PC. I started playing, and realized that my brightness was way too low. I exited out to turn it up, and then my computer suddenly rebooted itself.

Naturally, my first thought was that it overheated, because this had happened to me back when I first got my computer and I had to get a new component to fix it. So I check the temperature gauge on the front of my computer and became alarmed at the fact that it was ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTY EIGHT FUCKING DEGREES!

My computer is normally running at about a hundred degrees below that, and I literally leaped out of my chair and unplugged the thing faster than Speedy Gonzales. I opened it up and checked the two fans and they both seemed to be running fine.

I closed it back up and turned it on and it's been running smoothly ever since. Does anyone know what on earth happened?

... While I'm at it, I might as well ask what the general consensus about "Condemned: Criminal Origins" is.

Do you know what component(s) your temp gauge monitors like CPU, Motherboard (I don't think case monitors display video cards unless u did it yourself); for any part that does sound like its hotter than normal. Is that temperature reading in Fahrenheit? 188º F (80-90 in Celsius) if so thats very hot but not unusual.

188C or 188F ? That is alot of heat. I've had the same problem on my previous computer, only thing is that it shut down and then refused to start to work after that.

If you are running WinXP then you should be aware that it uses 60% of your computers resources just to run winXP! I'm a composer, and my cpu is constantly running at 95%-99% when I'm working with my music.

DeumReaper said:

Is that temperature reading in Fahrenheit? 188º F (80-90 in Celsius) if so thats very hot but not unusual.