Sarge
User Profile | Member List | F.A.Q | Privacy Policy | New Blog | Search Forums | Forums Home
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Misc. > Everything Else > Another Wolfenstein thread
 
Author
All times are GMT. The time now is 23:21. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Glaice
formerly Mr. Chris


Posts: 5317
Registered: 07-02


Where exactly would I find the entire game's MIDI soundtrack? I've looked around and was only able to get a handful of tracks.

__________________
Glaice's uploads - Link - ModDB
DVV - Doom stuff, reviews, etc
Tumblr - RDND 1.51

Old Post Jun 16 2012 20:10 #
Glaice is online now Twitter account Tumblr Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Technician
a little slice of /pol/


Posts: 8527
Registered: 08-04


You have the game file?

Old Post Jun 16 2012 20:23 #
Technician is online now || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12468
Registered: 07-07


The game's soundtrack is in IMF format, not MIDI (the original variant without header).

You can open the AUDIOT.* file with SLADE and extract the songs this way. You can even select them all and use SLADE's console command "addimfheader" to give them a header which will allow ZDoom to recognize and play them.

There might be IMF2MIDI tools somewhere, I don't know. ZDoom uses its OPL synth to play them if I'm not mistaken.

Old Post Jun 16 2012 21:10 #
Gez is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
printz
CRAZY DUMB ZEALOT


Posts: 9199
Registered: 06-06


Get an editor and extract the files. You'll get some IMF files. What you do with them, I don't want to know.

Man, SLADE3 is powerful.

__________________
Automatic Wolfenstein - Version 1.0.1 - also on Android (Updated 28/03/2015)

Old Post Jun 16 2012 21:10 #
printz is offline Twitter account Youtube Github || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Aliotroph?
postCount++


Posts: 2841
Registered: 03-02


They will play with Adplug in Winamp.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 00:22 #
Aliotroph? is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Glaice
formerly Mr. Chris


Posts: 5317
Registered: 07-02



Technician said:
You have the game file?

Of course, I bought the game off Steam quite some time ago.

Also I read that there is an IMF2MIDI and DRO2MIDI but it seems DRO2MIDI is producing 1kb empty files.

I have been able to find a small number of songs on various Wolf3d sites but not every song.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 05:08 #
Glaice is online now Twitter account Tumblr Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Xaser
Forum Staple


Posts: 2867
Registered: 07-03



Gez said:
You can open the AUDIOT.* file with SLADE and extract the songs this way. You can even select them all and use SLADE's console command "addimfheader" to give them a header which will allow ZDoom to recognize and play them.

I can't get this to work. The console command appears to work just fine (the entries are modified) but the songs produce complete silence when played.

[EDIT] Never mind -- it's working, but the volume is incredibly low. They sound pretty damn accurate in-game though. :)

[DOUBLE-EDIT] Interesting... I tried doing the same conversion method for Major Stryker's music (which I've actually wanted to use for quite some time now), and it almost worked. The conversion was fine, but the playback speed is too fast despite this page claiming otherwise. Could be a mislabel, though -- is there any way to make ZDoom use 560Hz playback?

Last edited by Xaser on Jun 17 2012 at 07:51

Old Post Jun 17 2012 07:19 #
Xaser is offline Twitter account || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12468
Registered: 07-07



Xaser said:
I can't get this to work. The console command appears to work just fine (the entries are modified) but the songs produce complete silence when played.

[EDIT] Never mind -- it's working, but the volume is incredibly low. They sound pretty damn accurate in-game though. :)

[DOUBLE-EDIT] Interesting... I tried doing the same conversion method for Major Stryker's music (which I've actually wanted to use for quite some time now), and it almost worked. The conversion was fine, but the playback speed is too fast despite this page claiming otherwise. Could be a mislabel, though -- is there any way to make ZDoom use 560Hz playback?

The code in SLADE is basically an automated version of method #2 here.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 10:19 #
Gez is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02


If you are comfortable with the command line, then you can try my own IMF to MIDI conversion program here:

http://transimf.sourceforge.net/

Old Post Jun 17 2012 12:16 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Glaice
formerly Mr. Chris


Posts: 5317
Registered: 07-02


I didn't know you made such software Andrew, cool stuff. Tho when I try to output a song it is written as a 39 byte MIDI file.

Reading from : dungeon.imf
Writing to : dungeon.mid

- Warning: Bad operator found: 0x3a
- Warning: Bad operator found: 0x4f
- Warning: Unknown register found: 0x06
Loaded 10 register writes, 9 delays
Found 0 melodic instruments, 0 drums
Saved MIDI with 1 tracks, total size 3.9K
Finished.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 16:17 #
Glaice is online now Twitter account Tumblr Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Xaser
Forum Staple


Posts: 2867
Registered: 07-03



Gez said:
The code in SLADE is basically an automated version of method #2 here.

Thanks for the link, but what exactly do the bytes mean? Is there anything in there storing tempo information or is that globally assumed by the engine?

Old Post Jun 17 2012 19:06 #
Xaser is offline Twitter account || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12468
Registered: 07-07



Xaser said:
Thanks for the link, but what exactly do the bytes mean? Is there anything in there storing tempo information or is that globally assumed by the engine?

"41 44 4C 49 42 01 00 00 01" translates to ADLIB 01 00 00 01...

There is, at most, an indication of length, but nothing for tempo.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 19:54 #
Gez is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Xaser
Forum Staple


Posts: 2867
Registered: 07-03


Hmm, that's what I was afraid of. Either ZDoom would have to support a different playback speed or I'd have to edit the file. The format seems simple enough that the latter might not be too hard to do, though.

Thanks anyhow.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 20:39 #
Xaser is offline Twitter account || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Bashe
Senior Member


Posts: 2219
Registered: 11-03


Regarding Wolfenstein 3D midis that are out there - years ago I was also looking for the full midi soundtrack, but it turns out only about half or less of the soundtrack was ever made in midi format, which is a bummer, but DRO and IMF tools make it possible to get the rest in midi, so there's a bright side to it all.

Old Post Jun 17 2012 21:13 #
Bashe is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
printz
CRAZY DUMB ZEALOT


Posts: 9199
Registered: 06-06


What's even more stupid is that Wolfenstein 3D has never had and still hasn't support for Roland Sound Canvas or any such synthesizer. Even with Wolf4SDL, it still sounds like OPL. This denies any of the WW2-themed songs from sounding realistically like military fanfares, with 'French' horns and drums and such.

__________________
Automatic Wolfenstein - Version 1.0.1 - also on Android (Updated 28/03/2015)

Old Post Jun 17 2012 23:09 #
printz is offline Twitter account Youtube Github || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12468
Registered: 07-07



Xaser said:
Hmm, that's what I was afraid of. Either ZDoom would have to support a different playback speed or I'd have to edit the file. The format seems simple enough that the latter might not be too hard to do, though.

Thanks anyhow.

It's hardcoded at the moment (see line 18 in opl_mus_player.cpp). It might be possible to add a SNDINFO key to change the tempo for specific songs? Dunno if Randy would feel like implementing that.

Old Post Jun 18 2012 00:19 #
Gez is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Csonicgo


Posts: 4536
Registered: 03-04


I think it would be possible for a beatfinding program to "detect" the beat based on timing of the notes. I've seen it with programs that "fix" midi files with bad tempo information.

Old Post Jun 18 2012 02:40 #
Csonicgo is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02



Mr. Chris said:
I didn't know you made such software Andrew, cool stuff. Tho when I try to output a song it is written as a 39 byte MIDI file.

I guess something went wrong, is the IMF file directly out of Wolf3D? My program doesn't handle the header that is added for ZDoom.

Old Post Jun 18 2012 10:10 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02



printz said:
What's even more stupid is that Wolfenstein 3D has never had and still hasn't support for Roland Sound Canvas or any such synthesizer. Even with Wolf4SDL, it still sounds like OPL.

Because the song format is just raw ADLIB (OPL2) data with some timing information -- there are no notes and no instrument names or numbers.

Old Post Jun 18 2012 10:16 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gez
Why don't I have a custom title by now?!


Posts: 12468
Registered: 07-07



andrewj said:
My program doesn't handle the header that is added for ZDoom.

It's originally a header added for WolfMusic if I'm not mistaken, as this modified format is credited to Martin Fernandez. I guess Randy adopted it because the presence of that header makes it easy to identify the format, instead of going "it's a shapeless blob, let's hope it can be read as an IMF song".

In any case, checking for the presence of that header and skipping a few bytes ahead if found is not especially difficult. :)

Old Post Jun 18 2012 11:20 #
Gez is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02


If I felt like working on that again, then I'd also want to give it a decent GUI which allows users to change the guessed instruments, tweak a loudness factor of instruments, fiddle with the output tempo, and review such changes with a playback of the MIDI via fluidsynth or timidity. Don't hold your breath :-)

Old Post Jun 18 2012 13:16 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Glaice
formerly Mr. Chris


Posts: 5317
Registered: 07-02



andrewj said:
I guess something went wrong, is the IMF file directly out of Wolf3D? My program doesn't handle the header that is added for ZDoom.

Yes, directly extracted out of AUDIO.WL6 using SLADE.

__________________
Glaice's uploads - Link - ModDB
DVV - Doom stuff, reviews, etc
Tumblr - RDND 1.51

Old Post Jun 18 2012 17:35 #
Glaice is online now Twitter account Tumblr Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02



Mr. Chris said:
Yes, directly extracted out of AUDIO.WL6 using SLADE.

OK.

Please stick it in a zip and PM/email it to me and I'll try it here.

Old Post Jun 19 2012 05:32 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
andrewj
Senior Member


Posts: 1705
Registered: 04-02


Cheers for the ZIP, Chris.

These IMF files have had a header added to them, I guess that's a feature of SLADE, but that's why my crusty old program doesn't work on them.

Old Post Jun 21 2012 03:59 #
andrewj is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Glaice
formerly Mr. Chris


Posts: 5317
Registered: 07-02


I looked in an older thread regarding SLADE and saw something about SLADE console using some command that added a header. Extracting without using the console command has allowed me to convert.

The songs came out fine except for a few songs playing a little faster than they normally do.

__________________
Glaice's uploads - Link - ModDB
DVV - Doom stuff, reviews, etc
Tumblr - RDND 1.51

Last edited by Glaice on Jun 21 2012 at 05:17

Old Post Jun 21 2012 04:48 #
Glaice is online now Twitter account Tumblr Youtube || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
brainstewx
Newbie


Posts: 4
Registered: 03-13


I did .wlf to .mid conversions of the Wolfenstein 3D and Spear of Destiny tracks with dro2midi several months ago, and then tweaked the files to sound pretty darn good (in my opinion). http://www.mediafire.com/download/oqfa7w5drd3gffm

Last edited by brainstewx on Jul 19 2013 at 01:09

Old Post Mar 9 2013 18:47 #
brainstewx is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
Gerardo194
Warming Up


Posts: 29
Registered: 11-12


I've done all the Wolfenstein and Spear of destiny soundtracks in midi format.

Old Post Mar 11 2013 06:39 #
Gerardo194 is offline || Blog || PM || Post History || Add Buddy IP || Edit || Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 23:21. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
 
Doomworld Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.5 Doomworld Forums > Misc. > Everything Else > Another Wolfenstein thread

Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are OFF
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - Doomworld >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.5
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.